Vinyl Vault

Arturo Gómez sits in for Geoff Anderson on Tuesday evening, March 6, from 8 to 10pm. The weekly Vinyl Vault features the then young lion ensemble, Out of The Blue with their 2nd album, “Inside Track” from 1986 for Blue Note Records. All six of the members have gone on to brilliant careers as leaders and accompanists, they are Michael Phillip Mossman-trumpet, Kenny Garrett-alto sax, Ralph Bowen-tenor sax, Harry Pickens-piano, Bob Hurst-bass and Ralph Peterson-drums.

This week’s Vinyl Vault will feature Ramsey Lewis’ 1974 Columbia release, “Solar Wind.” It’s a jazz-funk recording featuring guitar work and production on some tracks by Steve Cropper of Stax Records and Booker T and the MGs fame. The album was released just before his big hit “Sungoddess” and has some of that same vibe, but with a more stripped-down production. Check out the Vinyl Vault with Geoff Anderson on Tuesday, February 27 at 8:30pm on http://kuvo.orgKUVO JAZZ.

The fundraiser edition of the Vinyl Vault will feature tunes from several Return to Forever albums; “No Mystery,” “Where Have I Known You Before” and “Best of Return to Forever.” Primarily the brainchild of Chick Corea, Return to Forever was one of the foremost fusion bands of the 1970s. These three albums concentrate mainly on the most second and electric of the various incarnations of RTF, but “Best of” includes some tracks from the third iteration of RTF with horns and vocals.

This week’s Vinyl Vault features the second album from Ralph Towner’s band Solstice, “Sound and Shadows.” Released in 1977 on ECM Records, the album finds Towner on 12 string and classical guitars as well as piano and even French Horn. The other players in the quartet were ECM stars and included Jan Garbarek on soprano and tenor saxes as well as flute, Eberhard Weber on bass and cello and Jon Christensen on drums. Towner composed all the songs on the album. By this time the band had been together off and on for several years and was achieving a polished unity in their ensemble playing.

This week the Vinyl Vault will feature tracks from the first two albums by the band Cymande. The band originally consisted of nine musicians from the West Indies living in England. Their first album, simply called “Cymande” came out in 1972 on Janus Records. The next, entitled “Second Time Round” was released the following year, also on Janus. The band called their music as Nyah-Rock but was described as a mix of funk, soul, R&B, jazz, rock, reggae, African music and West Indian folk.