Vinyl Vault: Sounds and Shadows

Feb 10, 2018

This week’s Vinyl Vault features the second album from Ralph Towner’s band Solstice, “Sound and Shadows.” Released in 1977 on ECM Records, the album finds Towner on 12 string and classical guitars as well as piano and even French Horn. The other players in the quartet were ECM stars and included Jan Garbarek on soprano and tenor saxes as well as flute, Eberhard Weber on bass and cello and Jon Christensen on drums. Towner composed all the songs on the album. By this time the band had been together off and on for several years and was achieving a polished unity in their ensemble playing. Thoughtful, often lively, but always engaging. Check out the Vinyl Vault with Geoff Anderson, Tuesday February 13 at 8:30 on KUVO Jazz.