Vinyl Vault: "Satisfaction Guaranteed" by Mark Murphy

Jan 28, 2018

This week’s Vinyl Vault will feature one of vocalist Mark Murphy’s outstanding Muse releases, “Satisfaction Guaranteed.” Recorded in November 1979 and released the following year, the album features a great program including “All the Things You Are,” “Bijou,” “Eleanor Rigby,” “Waltz for Debby” and more. The band includes many great players including Slide Hampton on trombone, Richie Cole on alto, Ronnie Cuber on bari sax, Tom Harrell on trumpet and Mark Egan on bass among others. Murphy was in his prime for this session and his interpretations of these songs are one-of-a-kind. The album was never released on compact disc, but the Vinyl Vault has a vinyl copy. Join Geoff Anderson on the Vinyl Vault, Tuesday, January 30 at 8:30 on KUVO.